可持续发展指引

  1. 概述

基汇资本认为,对房地产投资采取负责任的态度将保护并提高其投资价值,从而提高基金投资者的回报。基汇资本认识到许多基金投资者都对探索负责任的经济,环境和社会实践(以下称为“可持续性”)感兴趣,因此致力于将可持续性考量纳入投资和投资组合管理流程。

 

这本《可持续发展实践指引》旨在阐明基汇资本在可持续发展方面的投资及负责任的商业实践中的原则、目标和管理体系。

 

  1. 行为准则

2.2.7 基汇资本行为准则声明:

基汇资本致力于将可持续性作为其商业战略不可或缺的组成部分,以推动能产生商业,环境和社会回报的交易。基汇资本对可持续发展的承诺是通过其全球标准、内部运营管理、进行的投资以及适用于其所涉所有交易的尽职调查来驱动的。基汇资本还致力于通过与各个地区/目标市场中的合作伙伴和潜在卖方建立信任关系来创造持久的社区影响,其中包括房地产经纪公司、投资者、资深房地产运营商和知名开发商。

 

  1. 投资流程

基汇资本致力于将可持续性纳入其投资决策过程的每个阶段。但是,由于不同原因,每个投资的实施和监控方式会有所不同,其中包括:基汇资本对投资实行的控制程度、合同限制、当地惯例以及所涉资产的性质。

 

基汇资本认可其在当地社区城市更新中的重要性。因此,基汇资本致力于发掘社区化的可持续项目,以促进与当地社区和文化的适当积极互动。

 

基汇资本旨在为利益相关方和第三方提高信息透明度,并致力在GRESB平台上报告其可持续性表现并进行基准测试,并将有助于可持续性表现不断改进。

 

投资前

在评估可能的投资时,可持续性是尽职调查过程的一部分。这些可持续性考虑因素包括:能源和水效率、污染和废物管理、可再生能源、残疾人的无障碍环境、公共交通的布局、健康和安全状况以及社区影响评估。

 

基于尽职调查的结果,基汇资本可能会排除对具有可持续性风险的目标投资。但是,如果投资目标在可持续发展表现方面具有增值潜力,则投资不会因其可持续发展表现低分而自动停止。

 

基汇资本旗下管理资产

基汇资本优先考虑重新定位表现不佳的物业,通过改善其可持续发展表现以增加其价值。 基汇资本致力于通过制定可持续性目标,监测及每月报告关键可持续性指标(例如:能源和水消耗以及符合GRESB标准的废物管理)来提高其可持续性表现。 此外,基汇资本使用INREV框架报告的定性指标来涵盖健康与安全、资产环境管理和社会治理等领域。

 

基汇资本已采用可持续发展的实践来管理和运营其物业资产,包括涉及以下方面:安全、可再生能源、废物管理和回收措施以及残疾人通道。这些不仅适用于物业运营,也同样适用于施工中的物业。

 

由于管理人员和经营者在提高资产可持续发展表现方面发挥着重要作用,因此将对相关员工进行可持续实践培训,以应用到管理和运营中。

 

基汇资本还为租户提供可持续性指导/培训,并鼓励在其物业场所采用可持续性实践。

 

由第三方物业经理管理的运营资产

在基汇资本对资产的管理和运营控制有限的地方,他们将可持续性目标传达给第三方物业经理,并鼓励他们采用这些目标和报告实践以与基汇资本管理的资产保持一致,即每月报告可持续性关键指标,例如能源和水消耗以及废物管理,以符合GRESB表现指标报告要求。

 

  1. 供应商,合资伙伴和租户

供应商:基汇资本将可持续性指标纳入对潜在供应商的评估中。

 

合资伙伴:在基汇资本对资产组合控制有限的地方,基汇将可持续性目标传达给投资伙伴,并鼓励报告实践情况。基汇鼓励合资伙伴将可持续性考量加入投资管理流程。

 

租户:基汇资本为租户提供可持续性指导/培训,并鼓励他们在其物业场所报告实践情况,以与基汇资本的目标保持一致。即每月报告可持续性关键指标,例如能源和水消耗以及废物管理,以符合GRESB表现指标报告要求。

 

下载版本

Sustainability Guideline

1. Introduction

Gaw Capital believes that a responsible approach to real estate investment will protect and enhance the value of its investments, thereby enhancing returns for its fund investors. Gaw Capital recognises many of its fund investors share an interest in exploring the implementation of responsible economic, environmental and social – henceforth referred to as “sustainability” practices, and are therefore committed to integrating sustainability considerations in the investment and portfolio management process.

This Sustainability Practice Guideline is designed to set out Gaw Capital’s principles, objectives, and management systems for investments and responsible business practices with respect to sustainability.

2. Code of Conduct

2.2.7 of Gaw Capital’s Code of Conduct states:-
“Gaw Capital Associates are committed to pursuing sustainability as an integral component of its business strategy, driving transactions that generate commercial, environmental and social returns. Gaw Capital’s commitment to sustainability is driven through its global standards, the management of its internal operations, the investment it makes and the due diligence applied to all transactions it engages. Gaw Capital is also committed to creating a lasting community impact by building trusting relationships with partners and prospective sellers in various locations / target markets, including real estate brokerage firms, investors, established property operators and well-known developers.”

3. Investment Process

Gaw Capital strives to integrate sustainability in each phase of the decision-making process relating to its investments. However, the manner in which this will be implemented and monitored will vary across each investment for various reasons including: the degree of control that Gaw Capital exercises over the investment, contractual restrictions, local practices and the nature of the asset in question.

Gaw Capital acknowledges the importance of its role in urban renewal of local communities. As such, Gaw Capital aims to deliver sustainable community-based projects that facilitate positive interaction with local communities and cultures where appropriate.

Gaw Capital aims to increase transparency with stakeholders and third parties, and commits to reporting and benchmarking their Sustainability performance on the GRESB Platform, which also facilitates continual improvement in performance.

Pre-investment

When assessing possible investments, sustainability forms part of the due diligence process. These sustainability considerations include: energy and water efficiency, pollution and waste management, renewable energy, accessibility for disabled people, access to public transportation, health and safety conditions, and community impact assessment.

Based on the due diligence findings, Gaw Capital may exclude investing in targets which have sustainability risks. However, scoring low in sustainability performance does not automatically prevent an investment if the target has potential for value creation through improvements in sustainability performance.

Assets managed by Gaw

Gaw Capital prioritises repositioning underperforming properties that can be made more valuable through an improvement in their sustainability performance. Gaw Capital is committed to improving their sustainability performance by developing sustainability targets and through monitoring and monthly reporting on key sustainability indicators such as: energy and water consumption, and waste management in line with GRESB. In addition, qualitative indicators are reported using the INREV framework covering areas such as Health and Safety, Environmental Management of the asset and Social Governance.
Gaw Capital has adopted sustainability practices for managing and operating its property assets, including those relating to: safety, renewable energy, waste management and recycling initiatives, and access for the disabled. This extends not only to operating properties, but also those that are under construction.

As managers and operators play an important role in improving sustainability performance of an asset, training will be provided to these staff covering sustainability practices to adopt in management and operation.

Gaw Capital also provides sustainability guidance/training to tenants and encourages the adoption of sustainability practices within their property premises.

Operational assets managed by third party property managers

Where Gaw Capital has limited control over the management and operation of an asset, they communicate the sustainability targets to its third party property managers, and encourage them to adopt these targets and reporting practices to align with Gaw Capital managed assets i.e. monthly reporting on key sustainability indicators such as: energy and water consumption, and waste management in line with the GRESB Performance Indicators reporting requirements.

4. Suppliers, joint venture partners and tenants

Suppliers: Gaw Capital integrates sustainability indicators into its assessment of potential suppliers.

Joint venture partners: Where Gaw Capital has limited control over the portfolio properties, Gaw Capital communicates its sustainability targets with investment partners, and encourages them to align with Gaw Capital’s targets and reporting practices. Joint venture partners are encouraged to incorporate sustainability considerations into their investment management processes.
Tenants: Gaw Capital provides sustainability guidance / training to tenants and encourages them to align with Gaw Capital’s targets and reporting practices within their property premises i.e. monthly reporting on key sustainability indicators such as: energy and water consumption, and waste management in line with the GRESB Performance Indicators reporting requirements.

DOWNLOAD VERSION